Skip to content

Still Waiting…Thankfully

October 21, 2016

Yesterday was the Great Shakeout in British Columbia.  This is a yearly date set aside to consider preparing for the seismic event that will occur sometime in the future on the West coast, practicing how to survive and recover from earthquakes.

shakeout

 

This year, during the designated time at 1020 am, I was attending a meeting at work.  A rare occurrence for me, but it was good to be able to share with my uncertain colleagues the purpose of the Shake Out, and demonstrate what to do if the ground starts to feel like a bouncy castle.

dch_art

This advice hasn’t changed in the years I have been participating, but I have noticed the links I have included in the past for my posts have changed. Along with practicing, I use this time to review my emergency kits and exchange expired items, as well as add new comfort items to my grab and go kit.

IMG_3740

 

Last year I added tea and a flask.  I can’t believe I could exist without tea during the recovery period of an earthquake or evacuation.  This year, on the advice of someone who survived the Christchurch quake who spoke on CBC radio, I will scan my important documents and include copies in an accessible place.

Here are some up to date links for 2016 on preparedness!

Government of Canada: Get Prepared  Know the Risks, Make a Plan, Get a Kit

Great British Columbia Shake Out  Join in and participate every third Thursday of October

Government of BC  Prepared BC – On your way to being ready

City of Port Coquitlam Emergency Preparedness – check out your own city for how you can be prepared locally and in your neighbourhood.

CDART – Canadian Disaster Animal response team – don’t forget your pet!

header-rescue-kitten

Get a kit!  Get a kit the quick and easy way, buy a ready made kit for you and your family, your car, your school, your pet or make your own…online at:

Red Cross  – you can now order online!

FAST – this is a local company in Delta, BC

St John’s Ambulance – You can order more than first aid kits

26 weeks to emergency preparedness – build your own kit a week at a time, it’s easier for when you are on a budget, also includes learning about preparedness.

Get informed a different way

Preparedness 101 – the Zombie Pandemic – A fun way of teaching preparedness, a graphic novel from the CDC

Fault Lines – CBC podcast on preparedness guided by a seismologist

I am all prepared, now what?  During my meeting I asked the group for a show of hands on who has an emergency kit in their home and car.  I was pleased with the response of many hands raised, and chuckled at the other response expressed, “oh, shut up.”  Everyone has a different level of comfort with disasters, and I can respect we all come from different places.  I have a friend who, many years before, lost her house in a fire, and I learned from her that  preparedness isn’t everything, but you can recover.  I choose to volunteer when I can with my city.  Do whatever you can, and I hope that throughout our lives we will keep waiting.

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

