Skip to content

Remembrance day

November 17, 2009
  In Canada, on November 11th we set the day aside to remember those who served our country in times of war and for those who died to ensure our freedom and peace.  We wear red and black poppies over our hearts to honor these men and women.
  On November 11th my husband and I attended the service at the recreation centre then continued with a march to city hall and joined hundreds of people at the city cenotaph.  People applauded the veterans who marched in their splendid uniforms to their place in the square.  We stood directly behind a group of cadets.
  During the service I learned that three local boys are on tour in Afghanistan right now.  I hope to get an e-mail address for them so that I can tell them personally my thanks for the work that they are doing.
  The part of the service at the memorial began with the positioning of the silent guard at the four corners of the monument.  These young soldiers stay perfectly still with a rifle tip resting on their foot for the entire time.  It is amazing that they can do that for so long without so much as a twitch.  We were fortunate that there was no rain.  At one point the sun broke through the clouds.  At a few moments before 11am a bugler played "Last Post," followed by two minutes of silence.  As I wrote this a question formed in my head, "what do you think about during the moments of silence?"  I thought of the immense sacrifice it would have been to serve and the risk of life for the generation to follow that you don’t know, and of the gift of peace I enjoy every day without a second thought.  As I ended with a silent prayer for all our troops the bugler once again played, this time, "Reveille."  As well, at the stroke of 11 we could hear in the distance at the train yards, horns from the engines as their workers showed their respect as well. 
  Then seven vintage planes flew in formation directly above us.  I had to squint a bit as we lifted our heads to watch them in the bright sky overhead. 
  At the conclusion of the service many wreathes festooned with poppies were laid surrounding the cenotaph.  Later individuals came and left their lapel poppies at the base of the memorial as well. 
   For the privilege of living in peace, I would like to express my deepest thanks to the many who brought it to me.  May we all work for peace everyday.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

