Skip to content

The rain continues…aahhh.

July 8, 2009
  We have been having a lovely, soaking rain for the last few days now.  The forest fire warning levels have been coming down and my garden is glistening green.  Today I strolled by it to see how things are coming.  It is a good thing that I laid out broken eggshells around my beans last week but I ran out of enough shells to cover everywhere and the slugs were having an eating contest with the lower leaves making them look like so much green swiss cheese.  I made sure that the slugs also had a flying contest into the woods, or at least for the ones that I could find and toss over the fence.  My scarlet runner beans have slowed a bit in their growth, but when it was sunny out you can almost watch them grow.  I think they will survive.
  A friend of mine asked what I have growing this year, so here is a rundown.
  •  Lettuce 3 kinds
  • Zuchinni
  • Cucumber
  • Strawberry
  • Blueberry
  • Garlic
  • Spinich
  • Radish
  • Mint
  • Chives
  • Oregeno
  • Basil
  • Potatoes 3 kinds in tires
  • Beans 4 kinds
  • Many flowers including sweet peas, purple poppies, sunflowers
  • and of course, you can’t forget the weeds!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

