Skip to content

Between a Rock and a Hard Place

November 14, 2006
  I have thought alot about Canada participating in NATO’s action in Afghanistan.  I tried to understand the history of the country, and where they are at today.  I listened when their president came to speak to our political leaders in Ottawa and thanked us for helping.  I was still not convinced that we are doing the right thing by having our troops there.  I heard about how NGO’s will not go to areas and provide aid to the people where there are NATO troops because they are too much of a risk.
   Today I heard on the radio an Afghani who confirmed my thoughts, but it didn’t make me feel much better.  He said, before there was the Taliban and they had order but no development.  Now NATO is there and they have development and no order.  What good are roads and buildings if I am going to be dead?
  I can’t imagine what it would be like to live with that kind of fear.  I just don’t know.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

